Close menu
  • What Is Grief?

    Grief is a natural reaction to a loss. Grief is heartache, heartbreak, intense sorrow, sadness, regret, remorse, bereavement, etc.

    “Grief is that emotional state that just knocks you off your feet and comes over you like a wave. Grieving necessarily has a time component to it. Grieving is what happens as we adapt to the fact that our loved one is gone, that we’re carrying the absence of them with us. And the reason that this distinction makes sense is, grief is a natural response to loss — so we’ll feel grief forever.” writes Berly McCoy for NPR

    Universally one thinks of grief as dealing with the loss of someone through death. Nowadays grief could be known to accompany the loss of a job, a marriage, loss of a friendship, a breakup, moving away from home, or even the loss of a pet. Just as with the many feelings of grief, there are various reasons to grieve.

    What Are The 5 Stages of Grief?

    When discussing the 5 stages of grief by Kubler Ross they are denial, anger, depression, bargaining, and acceptance. There are now an additional 2 stages shock and pain. When thinking about the stages of grief unfortunately it is not linear going from the first emotion to the last (acceptance).

    “Because grief obeys its own trajectory, there is no timetable for feelings of pain after loss; nor is it possible to avoid suffering altogether. In fact, attempts to suppress or deny grief are just as likely to prolong the process, while also demanding additional emotional effort.” states an article in Psychology Today

    People will go through different stages at different times, and it is possible to go back to a stage previously experienced.

    How Do I Heal From Grief?

    Working through grief is a process, a journey of acceptance and healing. This process is different for everyone, but this truth is for all, a person can come back to a more happy and productive life. As you move forward hold onto this hope; don’t take this journey alone but seek help.

    “The grieving process impacts our physical and emotional health in many ways.  When your brain is working hard to deal with grief, it has less energy to focus on keeping your body healthy…” writes Nikki Moberly for BetterUp 

    Establish a support system for yourself, therefore, is of the utmost importance and may include but is not limited to the following:

    • Close friends
    • Grief counselors and social workers
    • Grief support groups
    • Other family members
    • Psychotherapists
    • Your faith community

    Additional Resources:

    If you’re interested in learning more about how Grief Therapy can help you call 850.757.1552 and schedule an appointment with one of our therapists today or head over to our website, New Heights Counseling, and get to know Our Team.

    Learn more about Shareen Ancog

    Sharren is a PRE-LICENSED Registered Mental Health Counselor Intern and has experience working with adolescents, adults, and couples. She is Level 2 trauma trained in EMDR as well as a Certified Clinical Hypnotherapist/Advanced through ICBCH. Shareen is devoted to assisting people to overcome their obstacles while helping them change obstacles into opportunities. She is dedicated to her clients’ care and services Fort Walton Beach, Niceville, and surrounding communities. Book an appointment with Shareen HERE!